My Political History

  • Michael has served as an Officer of Coiste Ogra Fianna Fail
  • Moylough Cumann Secretary & Treasurer
  • Newbridge Comhairle Ceantair Secretary & PRO.
  • East Galway Constituency PRO.
  • Chairman of Water Monitoring Committee, Galway County
  • Chairman of Enterprise Working Group, Tuam Hub Town Implementation Committee
  • Served as Vice Chairman of County Galway VEC 1999.
  • Vice-Chairman of Inter County Rail Committee where he has led and continues to lead the campaign for the re-opening of the Western Rail Corridor.
  • Chairman of County Galway VEC 2000. Member of East Galway Adult Education Committee 1999 - 2004.Chairman of Roads & Transport Strategic Policy Committee 2001 -2003.
  • Chairman of County Development Board 2001 -2003.
  • Galway County Council Representative on National Combat Poverty Agency.
  • Elected National Policy Officer for AEEU in 2000 and 2001.
  • national Secretary of SAC Alliance 1999 and member of Group who secured 10 years grace for turf cutting in SAC, and I have continued to work on this issue.
  • Chairman of Infrastructure Physical & Natural Resources working on Galway Development Board.
  • During my Chairmanship of the roads and Transportation SPC (Strategic Policy Committee) record funding was achieved for the upgrade of Secondary Roads with allocations increasing by 400%. This has brought and continues to bring much needed improvement to the N63 and other Secondary Roads in County Galway.
  • Chairman of Suck Drainage Committee 2008
  • Elected National Policy Officer for the Amalgamated Engineer and Electrical Union 2000 & 2001. 
  • National Secretary of SAC Alliance in 1998 and 1999 (now TCCA). A member of Group who secured 10 years grace for Turf Cutters and I will continue to work on this issue. 
  • Former County Chairman, Development Chairman and County President of County Galway Macra Na Feirme.
  • Chairman of County Galway Rural Water Monitoring Committee 19992014.
  • Chairman of Western Inter County Rail Committee.
  • Member and former Chairman of Roads and Transport Special Policy Committee.
  • Chairman of Ballinasloe Electoral Area 2014/2015.
  • Cathaoirleach Galway County Council 2016/2017.
  • Board member of Ballinasloe Association Development Company.

Vote No 1 Michael Connolly in Upcoming Local Election May 24th 2019

Cllr Michael Connolly 

Michael Connolly


090 9679465


087 6829049